Explore Siteclick here
  • Academics
  • Admissions
  • Resources
  • About
  • Visit
  • Apply
  • Contact
  • Give
  • close menu
  • May 2019 Alumni News

    By Josh Duke | May 2, 2019 | Posted in: Alumni News

    May 30, 2019
    Shelby Larson
    Sport Management M.S. ’19

    shelby larson fsuShelby Larson became the Director of Operations of the University of Kansas soccer program. As part of her responsibilities, Larson will coordinate videos, team travel and meals, as well as plan soccer camps and clinics. Larson previously served as a graduate assistant for Florida State’s women’s soccer team. She also played for four years on the University of Tampa soccer team.


    May 29, 2019Derrick Mitchell FSU
    Derrick Mitchell
    Sport Management B.S. ’15, M.S. ’19

    Derrick Mitchell joined Washington State Athletics as a member of their student services staff. Mitchell was a defensive tackle for FSU football during his time here; ESPN rated him the number 18 defensive tackle.




    May 27, 2019
    Sonja Ardoin
    Higher Education M.S. ’06

    sonja ardoin FSU

    Sonja Ardoin recently published a new book, titled Straddling Class in the Academy. The book collects stories from “students, administrators, and faculty from working-class backgrounds” and offers their insights into both higher education policy and practice. Rosemary J. Perez, an assistant professor in Iowa State University’s School of Education, wrote in her review, “Straddling Class in the Academy is a must read for students and educators.”




    May 20, 2019
    Angela Alvarado Coleman
    Higher Education Ed.D. ’11

    Angela Alvarado Coleman FSUAngela Alvarado Coleman won the Outstanding HBCU/Minority-Serving Institution Professional in Region III award from NASPA. NASPA is one of the leading organizations for student affairs administrators in higher education. The organization will recognize Coleman and other winners on June 7 during a special awards luncheon in Washington, D.C.



    May 15, 2019
    Joi Walker
    Science Education Ph.D. ’11

    Joi Walker received the 2019 Dean’s Early Career Award from East Carolina University. Walker currently serves as an assistant professor of chemistry. The award recognizes “exceptional performance by tenure-track assistant professors.” In particular, the award council looks for faculty members who produce research and creative discovery. More information about the award can be found here.




    May 7, 2019
    Daniel DeShazo
    Social Science Education B.S. ’18

    Daniel DeShazo FSU

    Daniel DeShazo / Photo courtesy of Lee County Schools Facebook

    The Lee County School Board named Daniel DeShazo the 2019 New Teacher of the Year. DeShazo currently serves as the junior leadership program teacher at Caloosa Middle School. On top of being a recent graduate of FSU, DeShazo is also a veteran and served in the Marines for five years before deciding to become a teacher.



    May 6, 2019
    Iris Wilson
    Elementary Education B.S. ’77, Reading Education/Language Arts M.S. ’85, Elementary Education Ed.S. ’95, Educational Policy and Evaluation Ph.D. ’16

    Iris Wilson FSU

    Iris Wilson / Photo courtesy of Leon County Schools

    Iris Wilson won the inaugural Arts Advocate Award, presented by Opening Nights at Florida State University. Wilson is a former principal in Leon County Schools. She received recognition due to her exemplary support of arts education, creating partnerships with art organizations, and improving the overall learning experience. “As a society, we all benefit from organizations that give back to our students, teachers and communities,” Wilson said. “Advantages from partnerships with organizations like Opening Nights have been life-changing for our students because of the diverse experiences provided through performing groups, resident artists and follow-up resource materials.” Wilson retired in 2018.




    May 6, 2019
    Marshall Anthony Jr.
    Higher Education Ph.D. ’19

    Marshall Anthony Jr FSUMarshall Anthony Jr. has accepted a researcher analyst for higher education position at the Education Trust in Washington, D.C. The Education Trust is a nonprofit organization that aims to close opportunity gaps affecting students of color and students from low-income households.




    May 1, 2019
    Charles Thomas Rados II
    Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies M.S. ’14

    Charles Thomas Rados II was recognized by his U.S. Air Force unit for completing 10,000 hours of formal classroom instruction. Previously, Rados received the Classroom Instructor Certification, Level 3 when he passed the 3,000 hour mark. While the Air Force does not formerly recognize any additional hours beyond that, Rados still received recognition for his impressive accomplishment.




    May 1, 2019
    Donald Thomas Rohel
    Education M.S. ’74

    donald rohelDon Rohel received an honorary lifetime membership from the Association of College Unions International (ACUI). Rohel served as the director of Shepherd University’s Student Center. According to the press release,  “the award is given to individuals who have provided exceptional service to the association and is normally reserved for college union and student-activities professionals when they retire from the field.”




    May 1, 2019

    Itay Basevitch

    Itay Basevitch (middle)

    Camilo Sáenz-Moncaleano (Sport Psychology Ph.D. ’16), Itay Basevitch (Sport Psychology M.S. ’09, Ph.D. ’13) and Gershon Tenenbaum, professor of Educational Psychology, received an award from the Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology (JSEP). The group received the 2019 Excellence in Research Award for their article, “Gaze Behaviors During Serve Returns in Tennis: A Comparison Between Intermediate- and High-Skill Players.” The article appeared in Volume 40, Issue 2 of JSEP. The group will be recognized and present at the annual North American Society for the Psychology of Sport and Physical Activity conference.

    Camilo Sáenz-Moncaleano

    Camilo Sáenz-Moncaleano